Skip to content

When Ballots Must be Received in all 50 States

  • by
When ballots must be received

Here’s exactly when ballots must be received in each of the 50 states, plus in the District of Columbia.

NOTE: The Postal Service recommends that voters allow seven days for a ballot to be returned via mail. If the state requires a ballot to arrive less than seven days after its postmark deadline, voters are advised to send it earlier.

Don’t forget – to get every major event (politics, tv premieres, sporting events) in your calendar, check out Forekast+.

The States

November 2: Louisiana and Vermont

November 3: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Maine, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Wyoming

November 4: Texas

November 6: Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia

November 9: Iowa, North Dakota, West Virginia, and Wisconsin

November 10: Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, and Utah

November 13: Alaska, District of Columbia, Maryland, and Ohio

November 17: California

November 18: Illinois

November 23: Washington

Notes: In Vermont, mail ballots must be returned to the town clerk’s office before the close of business the day before the election, or to the polling place by 7 p.m. on Election Day. Some counties in Utah will accept mail ballots up to Nov. 17. Mississippi and North Dakota do not have deadlines for requesting mail ballots. Because of an ongoing lawsuit, the deadlines to request and return a ballot in Wisconsin are subject to change.

To get trending events right in your Google or Apple calendar, check out Forekast+.

Try Forekast for free